Advertentie

The Child of Auschwitz

1
Gelezen 1 Aan het lezen 0 Wil ik lezen 0 Favoriet 1 Recensies 1
Literatuur & Romans Spots 2 Top25's 1   Topics 0
‘She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.’

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand...

As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams – Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy…

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.
Genre
Literatuur & Romans
Aantal pagina’s
225
Uitgeverij
Bookouture
Laatste editie
08 november 2019
ISBN
9781838880682
+

Boekinformatie wijzigen
2 keer bewerkt, laatste bewerking door Annemieke de Jong
Rapporteer deze bijdrage
Jouw boekenplank Jouw waardering
Jouw recensie   Schrijf een recensie E-book prijsvergelijker

Topics


Start een topic voor discussies met andere lezers, vragen over boeken of het delen van leuke trivia over boeken of auteurs.

Start een nieuw topic

Lezersrecensies (1)

Over hoop en nieuw leven in afschuwelijke omstandigheden.

door: Annemieke de Jong 1 like
Met dank aan NetGalley kreeg ik de kans om een prachtig nieuw, onverteld verhaal te lezen, over de gruwelijkheden in Auschwitz, al voor dat het uit kwam. Journaliste Lilly Graham schreef inmiddels zeven boeken vanuit verschillende invalshoeken. Voor het schrijven van The Child of Auschwitz heeft...
ebook

Schrijf een recensie

Registreren Inloggen met Facebook